Visitors 7
0 photos

The twin rock temples that comprise Abu Simbel were originally carved out of the mountainside during the reign of Pharaoh Ramesses II in the 13th century BC. Construction of the temple complex started in approximately 1264 BC and lasted for about 20 years. Known as the “Temple of Ramesses, beloved by Amun”, it was one of six rock temples erected in Nubia during the long reign of Ramesses II. Their purpose was to impress Egypt’s southern neighbors, and also to reinforce the status of Egyptian religion in the region.

The larger temple is dedicated to Ra-Harakhtv, Ptah and Amun, Egypt’s three state deities of the time. It features four large statues of Ramesses II in the front of the temple. The smaller temple is dedicated to the goddess Hathor and is represented by Nefertari, Ramesses’s favorite of his many wives.

The temples were relocated to higher ground beginning in 1960 at a cost of more than $40 million dollars. The relocation involved contributions from many nations and was necessitated by the building of the Answar Dam. The temples were sawn into more than 1,000 transportable sized pieces, some of which weighed more than 15 tons! The relocation was completed in 1968.

For best viewing, use an iPad or larger monitor. Click on each photo for the largest image size.
This gallery is empty.

Categories & Keywords
Category:
Subcategory:
Subcategory Detail:
Keywords:Abu Simbel